About the event

Focus

Rented.com CCO and Vacasa Co-Founder Cliff Johnson and Rented Head of Business Consulting Amber Knight will help MC the event with many of their friends from the industry but the focus will be to bring in speakers you may not have heard from before to bring great stories of hope at a time when it is needed most. 


There are a lot of great events in the vacation rental industry that are focused on what is happening in the industry and tactics for how to succeed within it.  This event is all about broadening your perspective to learn from other disciplines across a wider spectrum including travel businesses, tech businesses, non-profits, social entrepreneurs and amazing individuals who have overcome adversity.  This about hope and giving back to those who need it most.  In our industry, housekeepers are often the most under-appreciated and vital members of our team.  All proceeds from this event will go to them.  


This event will be a Zoom Meeting from 9:00 AM EST to 6:00 PM EST and you can jump in and out all day.  You can register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_UYmxqtBUTtq7lrHd8ah3Tg or down below.  Thanks for your support! 

Event Schedule

image55

Ashley Horsley - 9 AM EST/ 6 AM PST

Ashley  will share the story of how she co-founded The Sonder Project which helps with access to housing, clean water and food globally.  Ashley's presentation will be followed by a musical performance from Trudy Newell, joining us all the way from Australia (late night for her)!   

Ron Severson, Alison Guzman and Rogers Mduku - 10 AM EST/ 7 AM PST

Ron, Alison and Rogers will highlight how MAPLE's community driven approach has enabled it to help communities in Uganda, Chile and Oregon strengthen their communities economically, so they can govern themselves in accordance with their own cultural values and preserve the land on which they depend for their livelihoods. Their presentation will be followed by a musical performance by from Gerard Lester, a vacation rental industry pro and man of many talents! 

Eduardo della Maggiora and Jorge Fuentes Roselló - 11 AM EST/ 8 AM PST

Eduardo and Jorge will join us from Chile and preset the story of how  they started Burn to Give  - a great company that helps live a healthier lifestyle and rewards you by making donations on your behalf when you do!  Their presentation will be followed by a musical performance from fellow Chilean Felipe Gonzalez!  

Jennifer Frankenstein, Michelle Williams, and Tiffany Edwards - Noon EST/ 9 AM PST

Jennifer, Michelle and Tiffany will discuss  the vital role that vacation rentals play in destination communities throughout the US.  Michelle helped develop the health and safety standards for the VRMA/VRHP and Jennifer and Tiffany both have companies in Florida which has banned short term rentals during COVID-19 while allowing hotels.  Cliff will moderate the discussion to cover topics such as what vacation rentals are doing to help COVID responders and how vital this industry is to small towns that rely on tourism.  

Matt Landau - 1 PM EST/ 10 AM PST

Matt  will share the story of the gang intervention and reintegration program called Esperanza he co-founded in Panama City, Panama that helped transform a neighborhood.  Musical Guest at 1:45 EST - James Francis!  

Jill Mason - 2 PM EST/ 11 AM PST

Jill works with housekeepers every day in her role as CEO and Founder of VRScheduler and she'll host a panel of housekeepers to talk about the heart of what this event is all about - what it is like to be a housekeeper in the vacation rental industry and how that world has been turned upside down.  They also have some great funny stories of course!  Musical Guest to follow will be the Gorgeous Gourds out of Utah! 

Damon Lawrence - 3 PM EST/12 PST

Damon will share his story of building Homage from the ground up and the challenges of turning  a dream into reality.  Check out more on his story here and join us to hear him speak live!  Encore Performance from James Francis! 

Megan Higgins - 4 PM EST/1 PST

Megan  will share some of the stories from the Dream Foundation's amazing work helping terminally ill patients fulfill their dreams - you'll cry tears of happiness and maybe a bit of sadness but it is an inspiring 'must hear' story!  

Dave Krauss and Charles Benzyk - 5 PM EST/2 PST

Dave and Charles will end the day on light note on a heavy topic by telling the story of Boredom Busters, a nonprofit that puts the 'fun' back in fundraising by hosting events to raise money to bring joy to pediatric patients  to help keep their focus off the heavy illnesses they face.  Musical guest Brandon Heisler from Boston!

Sign up to Attend

Sign up now here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_UYmxqtBUTtq7lrHd8ah3Tg 


Please donate if you can!  Learn more about the Housekeeper Relief Fund Here or buy a cool t-shirt here designed by our friends at Beach House Logos - 100% of the profits go to the fund.  Check out this great story about how the fund got started on Rent Responsibly 

image56